Utilizing the Channeling "Hot Zone"

Hey frens, there has been a lot of heated discussion about bots, scholars, spillover and more. A lot of it completely misses the point though, at least in my opinion. I went more in-depth on why I don’t believe botting to be the primary problem at the moment in the comment below:

So I started playing around with the numbers for spillover radius & rate, but I just couldn’t find a satisfying solution. Reducing them only by a bit would barely have an effect, while reducing them drastically would devalue high level Aaltars. When I went through the blog post on channeling radius it finally clicked though! The mechanic was right there, just not utilized to its full potential (or at all really): The Hot Zone.

It became obvious pretty quickly that the Hot Zone wasn’t so hot after all. The name simply implied that statistically speaking, 10% of the spillover would spawn inside of the inner 10% radius, 20% inside of the inner 20%, etc. This results in a slightly higher drop rate closer to the parcel, but in reality it barely makes a difference (only a single digit % of all spillover spawns in the “Hot Zone”). But what if we actually allocated a fixed % of all spillover to this Hot Zone? :eyes:

Thanks a ton to @letsgobankless for helping me understand & model these concepts, here’s what I’ve found to be the most interesting implementation of the idea:

With a radius of 100 Gotchis (compared to the 64x32 measurements of a Spacious), dropping a larger amount of Alchemica inside of the Hot Zone suddenly makes spillover feel much more like actual spillover instead of a random token drop around the map. [Edit: the Hot Zone radius could definitely be reduced, this is just one potential implementation - 50 might be the sweet spot actually]. Imo this would:

• Create an interesting mechanic around the concept of spillover (as seen in the OG trailer)